Names and Location of the Chakras

What is Chakra

The theory of yoga explains the existence of the human body in a physical form as well as in a subtle form. The anatomy of the subtle form is composed of channels (nadis) and energy centres (chakras). The chakras are symbolized by the lotus flower, which represents peace and inner harmony, adding the sense of stability and grounding.

During the practice of yoga the naval area, where the digestive fire (Agni) is located, produces heat which burns away emotional blockages and mental patterns. This enables energy to flow freely within the body’s subtle anatomy.

Name, Location and Color of the Chakras

Muladhara or Root chakra – is located at the perineum, base of the spine where the kundalini energy is located. Color: red. Mantra sound: lam. Influences primitive instincts, grounding and self-preservation. When  fully developed promotes spiritual wisdom.

Swadhisthana or Sacral chakra – is located at sacrum, just below the navel.  Color: orange. Mantra sound: vam. Influences reproduction, sexuality, creativity, subconscious mind and self-empowerment.

Manipura or Solar Plexus chakra – is located at the navel, around the stomach area. Color: yellow. Mantra sound: ram. Influences digestion, spiritual fulfilment, self-confidence, body and mind unity.

Anahata or the Heart chakra – is located at the middle of the chest at the level of the heart. Color: green. Mantra sound: yam. Influences circulation, compassion, universal devotion and tolerance.

Vishuddhi or Throat chakra – is located at the throat area. Color: blue. Mantra sound: ham. It influences communication, expression and understanding.

Ajna or Brow chakra – is located at the forehead, between the eyes. Color: indigo. Mantra sound: aum. It influences concentration, intuition and wisdom.

Sahasrara or Crown chakra – also called the one thousand petals lotus, is located at the crown of the head. Color: white. Mantra sound: aum. It influences universal conscious and enlightenment, connection to the higher self and universal spirit.

The practice of yoga aims to develop the chakras, allowing the kundalini energy to travel up through the chakas once they are open. When the kundalini energy reaches the crown chakra, the yogi reaches enlightenment and unification.

2 Comments on “Names and Location of the Chakras”

  1. pl let me know how to cleanse and align the chakras

  2. Live a healthy life, eat a healthy diet, practice your yoga every day. Avoid services to do this for you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *